Georgia Leadership Role Leads John Loud to Receive Moody Award

Apr 2, 2022 | Blog, Press Releases

The William N. Moody Award will be presented to John Loud at the 2022 ESX – Electronic Security EXPO SIAC Breakfast at the Fort Worth, TX Convention Center on Friday June 17th at 8:00 a.m. The Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC) Moody Award is given annually to an individual who demonstrates a passion for advancing alarm management initiatives and persevering in the face of adversity.

John took a leadership role as Vice President of the Electronic Security Association (ESA) and President of LOUD Security to encourage Georgia Governor Brian P. Kemp to sign and the Georgia legislature to pass a bill that bans counties and municipalities from passing customer alarm fines to the alarm dealer for payment. This groundbreaking legislation came in response to the decision by the city of Sandy Springs to bill alarm companies for their customers fines.

John’s leadership roles in ESA and the Georgia Electronic Life Safety & Systems Association (GELSSA) demonstrate a career-long commitment to helping our industry protect life and property through cooperation with public officials and public safety organization. The successful passage of the Georgia legislation demonstrates his commitment and effectiveness in these endeavors.

Loud was “delighted” with the recognition, and said when notified, “…It is important to note that this was a group effort by dozens of committed individuals in our industry and the state legislature who helped make sure that common sense prevailed in Georgia. Our industry needs to continue to support our state and local alarm associations as well as SIAC so that we are ready to work with any community that wishes to reduce unnecessary dispatches with a proven model and experts ready to assist.”

About the William N. Moody Award    

The William N. Moody Award was established in 2004 by the SIAC Board of Directors to recognize those who embody Bill’s dedication to alarm management issues. The award honors individuals who reflect attributes that include integrity, fairness and perseverance in the face of adversity.