Dallas, Texas (July 3, 2024) – The Electronic Security Association (ESA) has recognized Stan Martin’s decades of service and leadership in the electronic security industry by establishing the Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award.

The Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award will spotlight ESA volunteers who:

  1. Distinguish themselves through grassroots advocacy at the local, state, or federal levels, or by influencing the codes and standards development process.
  2. Proactively collaborate with ESA to advance initiatives that protect the industry and enhance public safety.
  3. Exemplify the dedication and attributes demonstrated by Stan Martin during his service to the industry.

“Our goal was to create a prestigious award named after a true champion of advocacy, so recipients would immediately understand the exceptional level of service they had provided,” said ESA Chief Executive Officer Merlin Guilbeau. “Naming it after Stan Martin was an obvious and easy decision.”

About Stan Martin

Stan Martin began his service with the association as a volunteer in 1987 when he was asked to

reorganize the National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (NBFAA) state chapter program. In

1989 he received the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award, presented annually by ESA to a

committee chairperson who displays outstanding leadership and in 1990 he was recognized as

the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year, the association’s most prestigious honor.


His success as a volunteer led to his appointment as Executive Director of the NBFAA.

Immediately, his advocacy skills were put to the test when the Regional Bell Operating

Companies suddenly became deregulated by a federal court ruling and stated their intent to

enter the alarm business. The threat was tremendous to the industry – the Bells had previously targeted answering service businesses and decimated the industry in just over a year using predatory practices and marketing advantages. As a result, the industry, led by Martin, engaged in the largest, most extensive grass-roots lobbying campaign ever undertaken by NBFAA. The successful process resulted in a seven-year ban on the Bells entering the alarm business and, more importantly, eliminated their use of customer proprietary network information. This was inside information they collected on specific vendors that consumers would call.

His support of the industry did not stop there. Since 1994, he has led a national effort to reduce unnecessary alarm dispatches, first by leading programs like Model Cities and Model States to develop best practices for law enforcement, and then for the last 20-plus years as the Executive Director of the Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC). He remains the driving force behind the utilization of industry best practices like Enhanced Call Verification and the development of codes and standards like ANSI SIAC CP-01 for alarm control panels.


“I’m humbled to have this award named in my honor,” said Martin. “ESA’s support has been instrumental to our success as has the hard work and dedication of SIAC’s board and staff.”

The first Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award went to Shane M. Clary, vice president of Codes and Standards Compliance at Bay Alarm Company for his contributions as a highly effective industry advocate. Dr. Clary entered the industry 50 years ago and has been with Bay Alarm for 40 years.


About ESA

Established in 1948, ESA is the largest trade association in the United States representing the electronic security and life safety industry. Member companies install, integrate and monitor intrusion and fire detection, video surveillance and electronic access control systems for commercial, residential, industrial and governmental clients. ESA provides technical and management training, government advocacy and delivers information, advice, tools, and services that members use to grow their businesses and prosper.

Together, ESA member companies employ more than 500,000 industry professionals and serve more than 34 million residential and commercial clients.